Man, I knew Nancy Pelosi was a fucking moron, but WOW.
Speaker of the House of Representatives Nancy Pelosi on Tuesday called for a second economic stimulus package, and said President George W. Bush is "in denial" about the country's economy.
"It's clear there is a need for a second stimulus," Pelosi, a California Democrat, told reporters at a news conference.
"The president has for a long time been in denial on the state of the economy," she said.
"I don't think that we have that amount of time," Pelosi said. "There are indications that this downturn is steeper than it was when we created the first stimulus package."
So she wants to borrow MORE money to help "stimulate" the economy? Where the hell does she think she's going to get this money from? I think SHE'S in denial about the economy. People borrowed more then they could afford for their homes, now it's coming time to repay that debt. They will need to file for bankruptcy just like generations before us did when they got in over their heads and made stupid financial decisions.
I live modestly. Granted, I do have a nicer theater room, but that was because I was living in a shitty 300 square foot studio apartment while my home was being built. With little to no expenses for this place, I was able to save about $36,000, and part of that went to my theater.
I bought a home that I could afford, EVEN IF I LOST MY JOB.
People who play the "keeping up with the Jones'" game ALWAYS lose. ALWAYS.
The economy would be doing just fine if banks didn't lend money to people who couldn't afford to pay it back and people didn't go into debt for dumb things. We don't need a second stimulus, we need tough love.
Travis
2 comments:
Uhhh - you know I'm not ecomony expert or anything but it would only make since if they wait and see what the FIRST stimulus check is going to do.
I'm far from an economic expert myself, but I imagine that you wouldn't borrow money from your neighbor to keep yourself from going bankrupt if you were already up to your eyeballs in debt as it is.
It's a bad analogy, but I simply don't see the point in spending more money when the money for the first stimulus check isn't in the budget.
You're exactly right thought. :)
Travis
Post a Comment