Friday, February 08, 2008

North Hollywood shootout

I got a lot of hate mail about my defending US citizens rights to purchase and own weapons such as the AR-15 rifle.  So, I thought I'd show you the difference between what I'm talking about and what they are talking about, since obviously they don't "get it".

I will use the North Hollywood Shootout as an example:

The North Hollywood shootout was an armed confrontation between two heavily-armed and armored bank robbers, Larry Phillips, Jr. and Emil Matasareanu, and patrol and SWAT officers of the Los Angeles Police Department in North Hollywood, Los Angeles, California on February 28, 1997. It happened when responding patrol officers engaged Phillips and Matasareanu leaving the robbed bank. Seventeen officers and civilians sustained injuries before both robbers were killed. Phillips and Matasareanu had previously robbed several banks prior to their attempt in North Hollywood and were notorious for their heavy armament, which included automatic assault rifles.

Phillips imported steel-core ammunition for his illegally modified assault rifles, and acquired Aramid to make body armor.

Ok, there's your first clue.  "Illegally" modified assault rifle.  That means that when he bought it, it was completely legal.  Now, I could modify my AR-15 to become fully automatic, but it wouldn't be wise for a few reasons.

First, it's illegal.  Yes, I know it's very difficult for liberals to equate law abiding citizens with passionate gun ownership, but it does happen a lot more then they'd like you to believe.

Secondly, it doesn't make sense.  Unless a weapon is mounted on a stationary object such as the back of a humvee, when you pull the trigger, the barrel "jumps" and becomes difficult to control.  You ability to hit your target becomes exponentially more difficult.

Semi-automatic, which is how most weapons these days operate, allow it's user to fire off as many shots as needed, without endangering the general public with sprays of supersonic lead.

However, because of our lawsuit happy land we live in and the idiotic nature of people who don't understand what police officers go through on the job, this happened next:

The LAPD was later criticized for not allowing Matasareanu to receive medical attention immediately, which could have been life-saving, the department countered by stating that ambulance personnel were following standard procedure in hostile situations by refusing to enter "the hot zone", as Matasareanu was still considered to be dangerous. Some reports indicate that he was lying on the pavement with no weapons for approximately an hour before ambulances arrived. A lawsuit, on the behalf of Matasareanu's children, was filed against members of the LAPD, claiming that Matasareanu's civil rights were violated and that he was allowed to bleed to death. The lawsuit was tried in United States District Court in February and March 2000, and ended in a mistrial with the jury deadlocked. The suit was later dropped when Matasareanu's family agreed to dismiss the action with a waiver of malicious prosecution.

I shit you not, these people actually thought they could sue the LAPD for them taking out a bunch of heavily armed and armored bank robbers who fired almost 1,300 rounds of ammunition at just about everyone who happened to be there that day.

So, would anyone please explain to me the rationale behind that?  Would anyone care to defend their actions in regards to the lawsuit?

You see, the difference between Gun Control advocates and the Gun Enthusiasts, is that the enthusiasts understand that owning a weapon is a Constitutional right, but they carry a heavy responsibility.  Gun Control advocates use the criminal element as well as a "think of the children" argument to get their way.  They don't understand that they are trying to encroach on the Constitutional rights of the American people.  If you don't want guns in your home, that's your business.  But you have no right to trespass on my rights or the rights of anyone who wishes to exercise them.

You say Freedom of Speech is sacred.  It is because it is guaranteed in the Constitution.  If that right is sacred, then you must hold ALL rights in the same regard.  Otherwise you're just being hypocritical and aren't looking out for your fellow citizen.

 

Travis

travis@rightwinglunatic.com

http://forums.rightwinglunatic.com

No comments: